If charged with a drug-related offense, you could face a wide range of consequences, such as the possibility of years behind bars, a steep fine and a shattered reputation, depending on the nature of the offense. In addition, it is crucial to understand the other ways that drug charges can disrupt your life. For example, you could lose your driving privileges.
If you lose the ability to drive following a drug case, this could have a ripple effect that disrupts many aspects of your life. For example, you could struggle to get to work every day and take care of other crucial responsibilities.
Drug convictions and license suspension
The Texas Department of Public Safety states that if convicted of a drug-related offense, you will have your driver’s license suspended for 180 days. In addition, if you do not have a license, the state will not issue a driver’s license to you for 180 days. If you have lost your driver’s license, it is vital to understand the steps you need to take to restore these privileges.
License reinstatement following a drug conviction
In order to have your license reinstated in Texas, you need to pay a $100 fee and finish a 15-hour education program. If you fail to finish the education program, the state will revoke your license beyond the initial 180 days. Furthermore, an authorized insurance company will have to give you a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate, which you must maintain for two years following your conviction.
Whether you are facing drug-related charges or trying to move forward after a conviction, it is critical to understand your options.